HHS Tech Transfer Offices & Contacts


The following list contains contact information for the various Technology Transfer Offices, Technology Development Coordinators (TDCs), and Licensing & Patenting Managers (LPMs) of the NIH and CDC. These personnel are available to assist in various phases of the intramural technology transfer processes: review of Employee Invention Reports (EIRs); managing patent prosecution for inventions; licensing available technologies; establishing various agreements, such as Confidential Disclosure Agreements (CDAs), Cooperative Research and Development Agreements (CRADAs), Material Transfer Agreements (MTAs), Clinical Trial Agreements (CTAs).

Clicking on an Institute or Center below will display contact information.

Technology Development Coordinators:

David A. Saeger (Primary)
301-451-9023
david.saeger@nih.gov

Eric Cole (Alternate)
301-451-4430
colee@mail.nih.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Kenneth J. Rose, JD, PhD
Technology Transfer Specialist for NIHCC
240-276-5509
rosek@mail.nih.gov

Tedd Fenn, JD
Licensing and Patenting Manager for NEI, NIHCC, CIT, and NLM
240-276-6833
tedd.fenn@nih.gov

 

CC Licensing Opportunities

 

CC technology transfer services are provided by: NCI Technology Transfer Center

CDC Technology Transfer Office
Visit website
Phone: 404-639-1330
E-mail: TTO@cdc.gov

Kevin Brand, MS, JD
TTO Team Lead
404-639-1442
KBrand@cdc.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Tara Kirby, PhD
CDC Team Supervisor
240-669-5128
tara.kirby@nih.gov

Jeremiah Mitzelfelt, PhD
CDC Team Licensing and Patenting Manager
301-443-8518
jeremiah.mitzelfelt@nih.gov

Karen Surabian, JD, MBA
CDC Team Licensing and Patenting Manager
301-594-9719
karen.surabian@nih.gov

 

CDC technology transfer services are provided by: NIAID Technology Transfer and Intellectual Property Office

Technology Development Coordinator:

Kurt John
301-496-0513
johnkurt@mail.nih.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Alan Hubbs, PhD
Technology Transfer Specialist for NEI, CIT, and NLM
240-276-5532
hubbsa@mail.nih.gov

Tedd Fenn, JD
Licensing and Patenting Manager for NEI, CC, CIT, and NLM
240-276-6833
tedd.fenn@nih.gov

 

CIT Licensing Opportunities

 

CIT technology transfer services are provided by: NCI Technology Transfer Center

Technology Development Coordinator:

Dexter Collins
301-496-4625
collinsd@mail.nih.gov

NCATS Office of Strategic Alliances
Visit website
Phone: 301-217-4679
E-mail: NCATSPartnerships@mail.nih.gov

 

Technology Development Coordinators:

Lili M. Portilla, MPA (Primary)
301-217-2589
Lilip@nih.gov

Krishna (Balki) Balakrishnan, PhD (Alternate)
301-217-2336
balki@nih.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Ami D. Gadhia
301-217-6098
ami.gadhia@nih.gov

Sury Vepa, PhD, JD
Senior Licensing & Patenting Manger
301-435-5515
sury.vepa@nih.gov

 

NCATS Licensing Opportunities

Technology Development Coordinator:

Belinda K. Davis
301-435-4541
davisb@mail.nih.gov

 

Licensing Manager:

Vio Conley, MS
Technology Transfer Specialist
240-276-5531
conleyv@mail.nih.gov

 

NCCIH technology transfer services are provided by: NCI Technology Transfer Center

NCI Technology Transfer Center
Visit website
Phone: 240-276-5530 (Rockville office)
Phone: 301-624-8775 (Frederick office)
E-mail: NCITechTransfer@mail.nih.gov

 

Technology Development Coordinators:

Thomas Stackhouse, PhD (Primary)
301-624-8775
stackhot@mail.nih.gov

Kathleen Carroll, PhD, MBA (Alternate)
240-276-5530
carrollk@mail.nih.gov

Jason Cristofaro, PhD, JD (Alternate)
301-594-5318
cristofaroj@mail.nih.gov

Richard U. Rodriguez, MBA (Alternate)
240-276-5530
richard.rodriguez@nih.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Visit the NCI Technology Transfer Center Staff Directory webpage for a complete staff listing.

 

NCI Licensing Opportunities

 

The NCI Technology Transfer Center also provides technology transfer services for:
CC - NIH Clinical Center
CIT - Center for Information Technology
NCCIH - National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
NEI - National Eye Institute
NIA - National Institute on Aging
NICHD - Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
NIDA - National Institute on Drug Abuse
NIMHD - National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities
NLM - National Library of Medicine

Technology Transfer at NEI
Visit website
Phone: 240-276-5530
E-mail: neitechtransfer@mail.nih.gov

 

Technology Development Coordinators:

David M. Schneeweis, PhD (Primary)
301-451-6763
schneeweisdm@nei.nih.gov

Mala Dutta, PhD (Alternate)
Office of Translational Research, NEI
301-451-2198
mala.dutta@nih.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Alan Hubbs, PhD
Technology Transfer Specialist for NEI, CIT, and NLM
240-276-5532
hubbsa@mail.nih.gov

Tedd Fenn, JD
Licensing and Patenting Manager for NEI, CC, CIT, and NLM
240-276-6833
tedd.fenn@nih.gov

 

NEI Licensing Opportunities

 

NEI technology transfer services are provided by: NCI Technology Transfer Center

NHGRI Technology Transfer Office
Visit website
Phone: 301-402-2537
E-mail: nhgrittoffice@mail.nih.gov

 

Technology Development Coordinators:

Claire T. Driscoll (Primary)
301-594-2235
cdriscoll@mail.nih.gov

Anna Solowiej, PhD, JD (Alternate)
301-435-7791
solowieja@mail.nih.gov

Eggerton A. Campbell, PhD (Alternate)
301-402-1648
eggerton.campbell@nih.gov

Licensing Manager:

Eggerton A. Campbell, PhD
Licensing and Patenting Manager
301-402-1648
eggerton.campbell@nih.gov

 

NHGRI Licensing Opportunities

NHLBI Office of Technology Transfer and Development
https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/research/tt

 

Technology Development Coordinators:

Alan Deutch, PhD (Primary)
301-402-5579
deutcha@nhlbi.nih.gov

Peg Koelble, MS (Alternate)
301-594-4095
koelblep@nhlbi.nih.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Uri Reichman, PhD, MBA
Licensing & Patenting Manager
301-435-4616
uri.reichman@nih.gov

Michael Shmilovich, Esq, CLP
Sr Licensing & Patenting Manager
301-435-5019
shmilovm@mail.nih.gov

Cristina Thalhammer-Reyero, PhD, MBA
Sr Licensing & Patenting Manager
301-435-4507
thalhamc@mail.nih.gov

 

NHLBI Licensing Opportunities

 

The NHLBI Office of Technology Transfer and Development also provides technology transfer services for:
NIAAA - National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
NIAMS - National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
NIBIB - National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering
NIDCD - National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
NIEHS - National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
NINR - National Institute of Nursing Research

Technology Development Coordinators:

Michael O'Donnell (Primary)
410-558-8024
odonnellmd@mail.nih.gov

Nicole Darack Guyton, PhD (Alternate)
240-276-5493
guytonn@mail.nih.gov

 

Licensing Manager:

Nicole Darack Guyton, PhD
Technology Transfer Specialist for NIA
240-276-5493
guytonn@mail.nih.gov

 

NIA Licensing Opportunities

 

NIA technology transfer services are provided by: NCI Technology Transfer Center

Technology Development Coordinator:

Megan L. Ryan, BS, MBA
301-443-4225
mryan1@mail.nih.gov

 

Licensing Manager:

Michael Shmilovich, Esq, CLP
Sr Licensing & Patenting Manager
301-435-5019

 

NIAAA Licensing Opportunities

 

NIAAA technology transfer services are provided by: NHLBI Office of Technology Transfer and Development

NIAID Technology Transfer and Intellectual Property Office
Visit website

 

Technology Development Coordinators:

Michael R. Mowatt, PhD (Primary)
301-496-2644
mmowatt@niaid.nih.gov

Suzanne Frisbie, PhD (Alternate)
301-496-2644
frisbies@mail.nih.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Visit the NIAID Technology Transfer and Intellectual Property Contact webpage for a complete staff listing.

 

NIAID Licensing Opportunities

 

The NIAID Technology Transfer and Intellectual Property Office also provides technology transfer services for the CDC.

Technology Development Coordinator:

Robert C. Walker, Jr., PhD
301-402-2533
walkerrobert@mail.nih.gov

 

NIAMS Licensing Opportunities

 

NIAMS technology transfer services are provided by: NHLBI Office of Technology Transfer and Development

Technology Development Coordinators:

Todd Merchak, BS (extramural activities)
301-496-8592
merchakt@mail.nih.gov

Karen Peterson (Alternate)
301-451-0707
kpeterso@mail.nih.gov

Henry S. Eden, MD, PhD (intramural activities)
301-435-1953
edenh@mail.nih.gov

 

NIBIB Licensing Opportunities

 

NIBIB technology transfer services are provided by: NHLBI Office of Technology Transfer and Development

Technology Development Coordinator:

Charlotte McGuinness
240-276-5497
mcguinnc@mail.nih.gov

 

Licensing Manager:

Surekha Vathyam, PhD
Licensing and Patenting Manager
240-276-6865
vathyams@mail.nih.gov

 

NICHD Licensing Opportunities

 

NICHD technology transfer services are provided by: NCI Technology Transfer Center

Technology Transfer at NIDA
Visit website

 

Technology Development Coordinators:

Michelle K. Leff, MD, MBA (Primary)
443-740-2246
ml316j@nih.gov

Vio Conley, MS (Alternate)
240-276-5531
conleyv@mail.nih.gov

Aida Klun, BS, MBA (Alternate)
301-443-1122
ak102w@nih.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Vio Conley, MS
Technology Transfer Specialist for NIDA
240-276-5531
conleyv@mail.nih.gov

Martha Lubet, PhD
Technology Transfer Specialist for NIDA
240-276-5508
lubetm@mail.nih.gov

 

NIDA Licensing Opportunities

 

NIDA technology transfer services are provided by: NCI Technology Transfer Center

Technology Development Coordinators:

Elyssa Monzack, PhD (Primary)
301-827-4184
monzackel@mail.nih.gov

Brian W. Bailey, PhD (Alternate)
301-594-4094
bbailey@mail.nih.gov

 

NIDCD Licensing Opportunities

 

NIDCD technology transfer services are provided by: NHLBI Office of Technology Transfer and Development

NIDCR Office of Technology Transfer and Innovation Access
Visit website

 

Technology Development Coordinator:

David W. Bradley, Ph.D.
301-402-9242
bradleyda@nidcr.nih.gov

 

Licensing Manager:

Yun Mei, MD
Technology Transfer and Patent Specialist
301-827-4639
yun.mei@nih.gov

 

NIDCR Licensing Opportunities

NIDDK Technology Advancement Office
Visit website

 

Technology Development Coordinators:

Charles D. Niebylski, PhD, JD (Primary)
301-435-8146
charles.niebylski@nih.gov

Agnes Rooke (Alternate)
301-451-6072
agnes.rooke@nih.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Carolyn Buller
301-451-2305
carolyn.buller@nih.gov

Vlado Knezevic
301-435-5560
vlado.knezevic@nih.gov

Betty Tong, PhD
301-451-7836
tongb@mail.nih.gov

 

NIDDK Licensing Opportunities

 

The NIDDK Technology Advancement Office also provides technology transfer services for:
ORS - Office of Research Services

NIEHS Office of Technology Transfer
Visit website

 

Technology Development Coordinators:

Sally E. Tilotta, PhD (Primary)
919-316-4526
sally.tilotta@nih.gov

Peg Koelble, MS (Alternate)
301-594-4095
koelblep@nhlbi.nih.gov

 

NIEHS Licensing Opportunities

 

NIEHS technology transfer services are provided by: NHLBI Office of Technology Transfer and Development

Technology Development Coordinators:

Kevin Lauderdale (Primary)
301-594-4499
lauderdk@nigms.nih.gov

Patricia Pillsbury (Alternate)
301-594-4499
pp25g@nih.gov

NIMH Office of Technology Transfer
Visit website

 

Technology Development Coordinator:

Jennifer Wong, MS
301-480-4821
wongje@mail.nih.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Jennifer Wong, MS
NIMH Technology Development Coordinator
301-480-4821
wongje@mail.nih.gov

Charles Salahuddin, JD, MS
Technology Transfer Specialist
301-402-2454
salahuddinc@mail.nih.gov

 

NIMH Licensing Opportunities

NINDS Technology Transfer Office
Visit website

 

Technology Development Coordinator:

Susan Ano, PhD
301-435-5515
susan.ano@nih.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Susan Ano, PhD
NINDS Technology Development Coordinator
301-435-5515
susan.ano@nih.gov

Oksana Dukhanina, PhD
Technology Portfolio Manager
301-594-6463
Oksana.Dukhanina@nih.gov

Lola Olufemi, PhD
Technology Portfolio Manager
301-451-3748
olufunmilola.olufemi@nih.gov

Smita Sharma, PhD, JD
Technology Portfolio Manager
301-435-7761
smita.sharma@nih.gov

 

NINDS Licensing Opportunities

Technology Development Coordinator:

Hyungsuk Kim
301-435-8398
kimhy@mail.nih.gov

 

NINR Licensing Opportunities

 

NINR technology transfer services are provided by: NHLBI Office of Technology Transfer and Development

Technology Development Coordinator:

Fred Wood, DBA, MBA
301-827-6454
fredwood@nih.gov

 

Licensing Managers:

Alan Hubbs, PhD
Technology Transfer Specialist for NEI, CIT, and NLM
240-276-5532
hubbsa@mail.nih.gov

Tedd Fenn, JD
Licensing and Patenting Manager for NEI, CC, CIT, and NLM
240-276-6833
tedd.fenn@nih.gov

 

NLM Licensing Opportunities

 

NLM technology transfer services are provided by: NCI Technology Transfer Center

Technology Development Coordinator:

Adam Clarkson
301-451-3295
ac480y@nih.gov

 

ORS technology transfer services are provided by: NIDDK Technology Advancement Office